2018 Albums of the Year

1. Foxing – Nearer My God

This was one of my most anticipated of the year, and oddly enough there are some moments in here I hated on first listen. Heck, I still haven’t fully come around on some of the weird stuff, but that’s my problem. You know what’s not a problem? The intro to Heartbeats. The bridge of Nearer My God. The way the piano weaves in and out of the cool little electronic lead in Trapped In Dillard’s. Brilliant. This record takes my number one because I remember being absolutely floored hearing these, and other, moments for the first time. And then you get to listen to the rest! Lambert doesn’t get as quirky but is no less commanding. Five Cups is the shortest 9 minute song you’ll hear this year. I see no other way to go about writing this blurb than just listening my favorite moments. But then you basically just get the tracklist. Nearer My God is 12 tracks of weirdly elegant and beautiful thought recordings dressed in black and set to violins, and for that it is my favorite record of 2018.

Recommended Tracks: Heartbeats, Trapped In Dillard’s, Won’t Drown

2. Underoath – Erase Me

I remember where I was when I saw underoath were reuniting and when they finally announced a new record. I remember listening to this for the first time with a clarity few other records preserved. Oh, how bittersweet it was (this is going to be a trend). I need not go over how this record was in many ways disappointing for myself and others. I do want to go to over how I have never before listened to a record so much in so little time as I did this one. Maybe I was just happy to have an Underoath record in 2018, but my god was I blasting this throughout much of the year. The surrounding tunes may be different, but this record has plenty of classic UO moments to go around. Spencer and Aaron show off some of their absolute best interplay, some signature Underoath choruses, and a few new tricks along the way. It’s not the Underoath record anybody wanted, but in time I think it will be just as loved.

Recommended Tracks: Bloodlust, Hold Your Breath, In Motion

3. The 1975 – A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships

I enjoyed exactly one (1) 1975 song until the first 3 singles from this record were released. Then I enjoyed exactly 4 1975 songs and my anticipation skyrocketed. Then I heard the rest. This album could not better encapsulate all the angst, confusion, and some-type-of-excitement that comes with being a millennial in 2018. It struck the perfect balance between accessibility and diversity for me to enjoy it, and it took only days for me to know it’d be high on this list. Pretty wild. The electronic flourishes are perfect, Matty perfectly melds his voice to each song, and the lyrics are as poignant as any I’ve heard in 2018.

Recommended tracks: Love It If We Made It, How To Draw/Petrichor, I Couldn’t Be More In Love

4. Lydia – Liquor

Each of the past few Lydia releases has featured songs I’ve adored and absolutely loathed. Going into this release, then, I was just hoping I wouldn’t hate anything, which admittedly isn’t a healthy way to approach a record from one of your favorite bands. Given how much I loved single Sunlight, though, I was optimistic, and on first listen through, I was not disappointed. Is this a perfect record? Far from it, so why is it so high? Flaws aside, it hit what I think is the best balance we’re going to get between traditional and summer pop Lydia in 2018, but even that is selling it short. Sunlight is my favorite song of this year. Red Lights is everything I’ve wanted from the band since Paint It Golden. Way Out is the quintessential Lydia closer. There’s a lot to love here if you look for it.

Recommended tracks: Sunlight, Red Lights, Way Out

5. Deafheaven – Ordinary Corrupt Human Love

Honestly, this is probably the release I’ve listened to the least. It’s exhausting, it meanders a bit, but it’s gorgeous. I think seeing much of it performed live helped it a lot, because my goodness do those guitar solos reverberate throughout your body for days after. I’ve left few shows lately with as strong a concert-high as this one. This is the most diverse Deafheaven record and that lets it be the most beautiful and emotional. If black metal isn’t your thing, don’t call it black metal; it’s just good.

Recommended tracks: Worthless Animal, Night People, You Without End

6. mewithoutYou – [Untitled]

To my ears, this is the most accessible mewithoutYou record. It sounds thick and full, it’s urgent, it needs to be played loudly. Despite this, it took me some time to really grow on me. I enjoyed it immediately, I could tell it was good, but some part of me wanted more out of it. I’m not quite sure when it clicked, but somewhere down the line it did. I think the key lies in this one needing to be listened to in full moreso than the previous record, Pale Horses, my current favorite mwY. Regardless, this features plenty of moments of the band at their hardest hitting and most philosophical. Recommend tracks: Tortoises All The Way Down, Julia, Wendy & Betsy

7. Emery – Eve

My journey with this record mirrors that of mwY very closely; I just needed more time with it. It only made sense given how immediate You Were Never Alone was for me. Dispersed throughout this record, though, are some of my now-favorite melodies from Toby and guitar moments from Matt. The band continue to put out completely unique, maturing, releases while still sounding unequivocally like an Emery record. They’ve long been one of the most underrated bands in their scene, doing their own thing, but they seem content with that. Not unrelated, this record took a really long damn time to get here; it was worth the wait.

Recommended tracks: Fear Yourself/Jesus Wept, Name Your God, Everything That She Offered Me

8. Good Tiger – We Will All Be Gone

This was one of the first records I listened to in 2018 and I knew right away it had some staying power. Admittedly, not many records from artists I hadn’t listened to before stuck around with me much in 2018 but this one hit all the right notes (lolz). This is probably the most instrumentally “fun” album on my list as it scratches that metal-y guitar itch. This record’s loaded with catchy, soaring choruses and meandering/intertwining vocals and instrumentation, not unlike Circa Survive’s Juturna but with a more metallic edge. It was released in February so it has already “aged” a bit, but the staying power has proven strong.

Recommended tracks: Blueshift, Salt of the Earth, Grip Shoes

9. Black Foxxes – Reidi

Undoubtedly the most straight forward rock record on the list, Black Foxxes turned down the volume a bit from their first release and put out something more subdued, but still driven and groovy. There are times I miss the more aggressive parts of I’m Not Well, but one listen to The Big Wild washes it all away and carries you softly, but with conviction, into this new era.

Recommended tracks: Breathe, Sæla, The Big Wild

10. Senses Fail – If There Is Light It Will Find You

This was a tough spot to fill, with 3-4 albums each vying in and out. All would have been worthy, but alas, we go with the catchiest SF album since Still Searching. This album is filled with hooks and despite some clunky lyricism, is a terrific singalong record for the car that’s meant to be played loud enough for the car next door to hear. This record’s playtime dropped off quite a bit after mid-year but that’s mostly because the second half has been so good. Revisiting it for this list affirms me it’s place was well earned. Also, this album has my favorite album art of the year. Just look at it.

Recommended tracks: “You Get So Alone At Times It Just Makes Sense,” Ancient Gods, Elevator To The Gallows.

EPs:

1. Gretta Ray – Here And Now EP

A very late entry to the list, I discovered the Australian Gretta after seeing her open for Gang Of Youths in December. I found her singer/songwriter set positively charming and couldn’t wait to hear more. The big selling point for me is the way she warps long lines of lyrics into lovable melodies; it keeps you on your toes and further serves to turn her voice into an instrument.

Recommended tracks: A View Like This, Blue Minded

2. Minus The Bear – Fair Enough EP

I’d never heard a Minus The Bear record before last year’s Voids, and perhaps that’s why I seemed to like it more than most MTB fans. In some ways this EP doubles down on what I liked about Voids while also apparently catering to the band’s old tastes. Hearing Viaduct got me excited for this release, but it’s actually the titular track that quickly turned into one of my absolute favorites of this year. Dinosaur took some time to grow on me, but it’s secured it’s place on the EP just fine, and the Invisible remix was a fun but restrained way to revisit one of my favorite tracks from Voids.

Recommended tracks: Fair Enough, Viaduct.

3. Dream State – Recovery EP

Had this come out in 2008, I think Dream State could have been massive. This EP nails the melodic metalcore sound so many bands were going for then, but I’m glad we have it now to show this sound can still be done well, if a bit safely. It strikes me as a bit of a cross between Bring Me The Horizon and Architects, and it sounds so damn good. Love the grittiness in the vocals, love the guitar tones, love the melodies. A fun listen all the way through.

Recommended tracks: Help Myself, New Waves

Leave a comment